Three Penn Engineers Recognized as APS Fellows

Engineering/Wharton Start-Up Avisi Technologies on their way to FDA Approval

Promoting Innovative, Reproducible Science: Penn’s Research Excellence Initiative

Vivek Shenoy and the Power of Penn

Earlier this month in Boston, Penn President Amy Gutmann hosted a panel discussion as part of the “Power of Penn” campaign. This event was one of several being held in major cities, aiming to raise $4.1 billion for the University’s priorities, underpinned by the commitment to innovation, inclusion, and impact.

Liang Feng Elected Fellow of the Optical Society

Liang Feng, assistant professor in the departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Electrical and Systems Engineering, has been elected a fellow of the Optical Society. The scholarly society has, since 1916, been the “world’s leading champion for optics and photonics, uniting and educating scientists, engineers, educators, technicians and business leaders worldwide to foster and promote […]

Shu Yang Elected an American Physical Society Fellow

  Shu Yang, professor in the departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society (APS). Her fellowship nomination was from the scholarly society’s Topical Group on Soft Matter.

Penn Engineering Groups Awarded NSF Grants to Work Toward ‘Quantum Leap’

One group will design robust, integrated quantum memory devices based on defects in diamond, and the other group will develop materials to encode and decode quantum information in single photons. These technologies will be part of the safest and most secure information network ever seen.

Y-Prize 2018: Embodied Logic and Surface Wrinkle Printing

Each year, Engineering, Wharton and the Penn Center for Innovation come together for an invention competition known as the Y-Prize. Unlike the XPRIZE, where competitors come up with novel technologies to solve a particular problem, the Y-Prize starts with the technologies and challenges entrants to find commercial applications they are particularly suited for. At stake: $10,000 to […]

New Microscopes Will Allow Researchers to See Small and Think Big

Two high-resolution microscopes will allow researchers to study and test materials at the atomic level with unprecedented precision.

Powering the Future with Giant Clams

In 2014, Shu Yang, of the Materials Science and Engineering, joined School of Arts and Sciences’ biophysicist Alison Sweeney on an unusual quest. Backed by a NSF INSPIRE grant for bold, interdisciplinary research, the duo aimed to unlock the solar-powered secrets of the giant clam. Now, Sweeney and Yang are combining their knowledge of how […]

1 2 3 5